Uncategorized

Funky Duck Tape & Desks!

I won a competition over at The Olivers Madhouse for some Funky ducktape.
When I entered I had no idea what I would do with it if I won, when I won I had a couple of things in mind, but today IT ARRIVED! And upon opening it I had a brainwave, I had the perfect DIY crafty upcycling project for this wonderful tape!

The kids desk, this isnt just any desk though, it was mine as a kid, we used to have a chair with it too, my dad & grampy made the chair, originally it was my auntys highchair when she was a baby! So the chair is a fair few years old! The chair has now been retired however, but this desk which was mine when I was little lives on! Through myself and 3 siblings and now onto my children. When I had it, it was painted pink, when my brother ‘inherited’ it it got painted turquoise/blue/green, recently its come to live with us and prior to this my dad sanded the bluey colour off so it looked a bit of a sorry state!
DSCF0138DSCF0140

DSCF0141

So I removed the contents

DSCF0139

How much paper/magazines/colouring pages/activity books do an 18month old and a 3 year old need?! Obviously a lot…

And then I set to work..

DSCF0142 DSCF0143 DSCF0144 DSCF0146 DSCF0147

That was the outside done.. Now for something a bit funky, to have a little bit of fun…

DSCF0149 DSCF0150 DSCF0151

I completely love it!  The inside makes your eyes go funny after a while (which im sure my crazies will love!) And the outside is girly but not babyish -hey its even got red heels like a louboutin 😉 – and its wipeable!! Hooray, with the girls as little as they are hands get excited when drawing, paint gets flicked, things get spilt, and now its not going to leave water marks/stains/bare patches where youve rubbed to hard with wetwipes (or is that just me?) Its wonderful. Im really really pleased with this! Im not a crafty person at all really, i wish i was. So if i can change that desk to this then really anyone can!
What do you think?

3 thoughts on “Funky Duck Tape & Desks!

  1. oh wow i am totally loving it, congrats again for being my winner and i am so made up to see how much fun you have had with it! .. far better than my book covering! lol

    Like

Comments are closed.